Welcome to the 1st EURO PhD School on Sustainable Supply Chains!

Location: Koblenz and Aachen, Germany

Venue in Koblenz: Youth hostel "Festung Ehrenbreitstein", 56077 Koblenz
                              Meeting rooms "Karthause" and "Stolzenfels" (located in the basement of the youth hostel)

Venue in Aachen: Super C building RWTH Aachen University, 6th floor (upmost floor), Templergraben 57, 52062 Aachen

Dates: 26th of June (Sunday) - 2nd of July (Saturday) 2016

Scope: The school aims at training PhD students in the area of Sustainable Supply Chains and is organized with the financial support of the Association of European Operational Research Societies (EURO).

  • Concepts and models for Sustainable Supply Chains: multicriteria decisions, trade-offs between economic, environmental and social objectives
  • Inter- and multidisciplinary approaches, e. g. combining optimization and life cycle assessment, development of sustainable business models
  • Specific characteristics of e. g. Biobased SCs, Closed-Loop SCs, Food SCs, Automotive SCs  

Maximum number of participants: 30

ECTS: 3 ECTS (50 hours: classes 3h/day, supervised training 2h/day, supervised work on case studies 3 h/day) + 2 ECTS (voluntary) for a poster to be presented at the 1st Conference of the EURO Working Group on Sustainable Supply Chains.
If you intend to present a poster, please send in a short abstract until 31st of May 2016 to eps-sustsc@om.rwth-aachen.de.

Registration fee: 150 € (including accomodation, meals, social activities, travel within school activities); EWG Sustainable Supply Chains will cover the registration fee for two students. Travel costs to and from the school have to be covered by the participants, either themselves or through external funding (e. g. national Science funding bodies, OR National Societies, etc.). 

Application deadline: 15th of February 2016

Notification of acceptance: 29th of February 2016

Contact: This email is Javascript protected

Organizing committee: Grit Walther (RWTH Aachen University), Jacqueline Bloemhof (Wageningen University), Erwin van der Laan (Erasmus University Rotterdam)